Why I Skipped This Year’s Academy Awards

Kait Gets Lit

The same week that the infuriatingly predictable (read: white male) 87th Annual Academy Award nominations were released, I saw Selma in theaters. Where as I previously wanted to see the movie because it looked well-made, the Civil Rights Movement and the time period surrounding it have always fascinated me, and I heard positive reviews (plus a lot of backlash surrounding the portrayal of LBJ that intrigued me too), now I felt I needed to see it to understand why it had been shut out in the writing, directing, and acting fields.

This was easily one of the most profound movie-going experiences of my life. After an opening that shows Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. receiving the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize, Director Ava DuVernay wastes no time portraying the brutality of the racist South with a scene that shows the 1963 Birmingham, Alabama church bombing that resulted in the death of…

View original post 726 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

